Deck the Halls

I love the holidays.

I love the smell of Christmas and the traditions and the magic of it. Yes, in my family we still actively participate in the magic of Christmas. Early yesterday morning Mom and I, all hopped up on holiday cheer and caffeine, went out shopping for Christmas decor for my apartment and I’ve been a whirlwind of ribbon and ornaments ever since.

Even though it goes against everything I believe in, I have a 6-foot tall artificial Christmas tree. During our tree trimming party this afternoon, Rebecca and I covered the tree in gold and it is beautiful, but it’s artificial. In an effort to come to terms with this internal struggle, Mom gave me a candle that smells like Christmas tree. So the fake tree suffices for now.

I gave Rebecca an extra special ornament for her to put on the tree this year. It’s a giant diamond ring.

Of course decorating the tree wasn’t enough for us today, so as we continued to listen to Christmas music we popped open a bottle of champagne and threw ourselves into craft time. There is glitter everywhere.

And Prince’s love for plastic bags backfired

He got his head and one arm stuck in the handle of this bag, which I eventually had to cut him out of. After taking pictures of his distress.

We made it a perfect night with chinese delivery and an annual screening of Love Actually. Now that the apartment is in the Christmas spirit, I hope to get all my shopping done this week… It’s unlikely, but a girl can hope.

 

Posted on November 28, 2010, in Holidays. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

