Photography Class

As a Christmas present, Hugh signed me up for a photography class at Meadowlark Botanical Gardens in Vienna. The class I went to was a two-hour discussion of exposure and all the fun components of it; aperture, shutter speed and ISO. Normally there’s a hands-on outing after the class so you can put your new knowledge to the test while the instructor is available for questions. As previously stated, it was incredibly cold Saturday morning on my way to class, so I was a little hesitant for the post-class outing into the gardens and into the frigid tundra.

Unfortunately (or fortunately) the instructor wasn’t eager to go out into the cold either, so we skipped the outdoors hands-on part. But I did learn a lot in class and I have a lot of new, exciting, fun things I want to try next time I’m outside in daylight. I also learned that I want a tripod. And that the lens I’ve placed on my Amazon wish list is the next one teacher man would have suggested for me. Right now I have the 18-55 mm kit lens (meh.) and a 55 mm f/1.4 which is the one I keep mounted and usually shoot with. On my wish list is the 70-200 mm f/4 OR the 70-300 mm f/4-5.6, but I’m still doing my research (read: saving mulah) before I make a choice and a commitment.

The last thing I learned was that the photos I ventured out of work to take the day we had snow but no snow day could have been a lot better. If only I’d been a master of aperture then. It would be super if we got some snow — and a snow day — soon so I can try again. See?

Practice makes perfect, so I practiced some low light aperture adjustments Saturday night at a karaoke outing. But I need to back up Miss Macbook before I upload anything else, so they’ll have to wait.

Posted on January 24, 2011, in Photography. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

