Every Weekend Should be a Three-Day Weekend

I took Friday off of work to hang out with my brother who was home from college for spring break. Because he was in need of Spring clothing, we spent the day at the outlets with Mom. The majority of our time was spent in the Ralph Lauren outlet, like this:

“Which pastel striped shirt should I get?” Dylan asked. “Could I wear this to fraternity events?” I think he ended up with neither of the ones he’s holding.

When that conundrum was solved, we happened into Brooks Brothers which looked like my Outlook inbox for work…

… Everything was color coordinated.

Even the outrageously expensive men’s short shorts were organized in ROYGBIV order — very pleasing to the organizationally-inclined eye.

After a few more stops we headed home to watch the Hokies play Florida State in the second round of the ACC tournament with Dad and Hugh. It was one of the more intense game endings I’ve witnessed in my Virginia Tech-loving life.

In the [long] video below, fast forward to about 6:00 (we’re in orange). And then you can fast forward to about 9:35 to relive the moment that our living room erupted into a flurry of screams and high-fives.

Long story short, we advanced to play Duke yesterday. Even though we beat them a few weeks back when they were #1 in the country, we lost. But that’s neither here nor there — It’s Sunday and I’ve already spent time with family, watched basketball and played spades with friends, eaten a hearty breakfast, and I have the whole day to be productive. If only every weekend was three days long, I’d fit it all in all the time.

Posted on March 13, 2011, in Family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

