Fighting With Daylight Savings Time

Daylight savings time and I are not friends. My body is so confused. I was inexplicably exhausted most of the day yesterday, and I just know it had nothing to do with staying up past my bedtime to edit photos and watch a movie Sunday night. It was most definitely the fault of daylight savings time (DST). Minus 1 point for DST.

When I was walking home from work last night around 7:15 p.m. and it was still light out, I was more than grateful for the time change. I was borderline giddy. There’s not much I dislike more than walking home alone in the dark. It’s not that I’m scared, really, it’s just not fun to me. Plus 1 point for DST.

This morning I realized the sun isn’t coming up until after 7 a.m. In the 5-9 minute intervals between snooze alarms (two alarms, differing snooze schedules – it’s supposed to help me get up…) I rationalized that if the sun doesn’t have to get up, then neither do I. This is a bad rationalization. I got up very late this morning. Minus 1 point for DST.

During my nap on the metro, something finally clicked in my mind. Springing forward, turning the clocks ahead, and gaining daylight in the evenings brings us that much closer to sunshine, warm weather, Saturday farmers’ markets,

Sunny weekend trips to be touristy,

Baseball games after work,

Breakfast sausages at the Bay house,

Riding in the car with the windows down,

Pelican hunting,

And 98-degree afternoons on the beach.

Plus one million points for DST.

Posted on March 15, 2011, in 25, Adventures, Friends, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Boo! for exhaustion (me too!); YAY! for sunshine and warmer weather!

    Hint: Alter your bedtime, eat some protein for breakfast, take (brief) exercise breaks during the day to get the blood/oxygen flowing…(and if I remember to follow my own advice, I’ll be pleasantly surprised :))

  2. I am equally excited about all the things you mentioned…especially baseball games!!! I’ve already got my tickets for opening day. Do you have a favorite team?

  3. I’m late, but you know I totally agree with the whole “if the sun doesn’t have to get up neither do I.” I was just getting used to the sun being up at 6:30. I was even making it to work before you all last week! Then DST hit and I’m barely rolling in at 9:30. Damn you DST *shakes fist angrily*!

Leave a Reply

