The Key to Productivity

I am, and always have been, and probably always will be, just a little distracted. I have recently questioned whether there are tell-tale signs of adult attention deficit disorder. If there are, I’m sure I exhibit them here and there.

Moving on.

I recently learned, by sharing a productive Sunday with Hugh, that the key to productivity is this set-up:

What you’ll need:

  1. A computer set up in a clean, desk-like situation. (Not on my desk though, because it’s distracting).
  2. A chair. The less comfortable the better.
  3. Bright light.
  4. A to-do list.
  5. Snacks. Because I can always find a reason to snack.
  6. If you can find one, an incredibly motivated person is crucial.

If you have all of these, you can:

  1. Start your taxes.
  2. Finish your taxes.
  3. Research online savings accounts.
  4. Organize your iPhoto and Picasa photo libraries.
  5. Pay your bills.
  6. Check Facebook.
  7. Buy a new laptop battery to replace the one that cannot exist without being plugged into the wall.
  8. Book flights for a quick trip to Florida.
  9. Research things to do in Chicago. (It sounds like I’m traveling a lot).
  10. Write blog posts.

I find this discovery very encouraging since I will soon begin working from home once a week. Look boss, I know how to be productive at home!

So far the only draw back to this set up is that now I want to do nothing but sit at my computer and write post after post.

But before I can do that, I must finish unpacking from Charleston.

Because I’ve been too distracted to for the last week.

Posted on April 13, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Ha! I just wrote a post about adult ADHD. It’s funny because sometimes I think that I don’t believe in it, and then sometimes I think that it explains so much about my life. 🙂
    Right now I’m sitting on a huge list and wishing I could get it done – especially the starting taxes part (not to mention the finishing of the taxes). 🙂

  1. Pingback: The Anatomy of a Saturday Morning « twentyfifth year

Leave a Reply

