The Anatomy of a Saturday Morning

After packing April full of weekend trips, this past Saturday morning was the first I spent at home in a few weeks.

Charleston.

Chicago.

Blacksburg.

Florida.

I had big plans for a weekend at home and an even bigger to-do list. I hadn’t been grocery shopping in … six weeks?

And yet, when I woke up around 8 a.m. Saturday all I wanted to do was the opposite of what I’d been doing in my travels. I resisted the urge to get up and go go go somewhere and do this and that and instead gave in to the urge to hang out in my PJs, watch the news, and let the day take me where it wanted.

So I sat at my make-shift work station, drank some coffee, caught up on some emails, and checked some little things off my MOH to-do list for a bridal shower we’re having soon. Because I have no shame, this is what Saturday morning looked like for me:

Then the day took me to Jessie’s porch for a glass or two of homemade sangria.

But that’s not the point.

I’ve only completed two workdays so far this week, and looking at that picture, I’m already longing for Saturday morning. Messy hair, hoodie, and all. Unfortunately, I don’t have many more leisurely productive days in my future.

Only productively productive days.

Well, that’s the plan anyway.

Posted on May 10, 2011, in 25. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

