Running Update: I Did What?!

This is what I looked like when I finished my run last night:

I looked down at my Endomondo app on my phone and it looked like this:

If you think my faulty screen shot (photo credits: Hugh) is fooling you, this is what it looked like on Endomondo online:

I ran 4.06 miles in 46 minutes, 39 seconds. The speed is clearly not what I’m excited about (I’m slow as they come, plus we stopped for a bit to play with a golden retriever puppy named Bentley).

It’s the 4 miles part that’s got me doing cartwheels.

Remember when I was excited about 3 and I knew I could do more? Well my most recent run (a whole week ago, in Tulsa, OK) was rough. I had to walk after about 2 miles — the Oklahoma heat and sparse shade was too much for me. See my so-so progress (for the runs I’ve tracked with GPS):

So it felt extra good at 3 miles tonight, that I was able to say  to Hugh (who could run a 10K without ever training at all), “Let’s do one more little lap!” He eventually stopped at 3.62 miles, because I said my app’s distance was a little behind his and I wanted to finish the same distance as him. But as I rounded 3.62, I was thinking, why not just make it count all the way to 4, just to see it?

So I ran laps in my apartment’s parking lot, back and forth past Hugh, until the GPS tracked up to 4 miles. And I could have done more. Again, I realized that this 10K — excessive heat notwithstanding — is totally doable. And that’s a really, really good feeling.

The endorphins help a little.

Posted on June 28, 2011, in Adventures and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Yay for you!

  2. It’s nice to see progress, isn’t it! Good job.

  3. Awesome! Good for you Lauren! You are starting to inspire me. I am “thinking” about trying this running thing…..

    • Thanks Gina! Thinking about it is half the battle 🙂 Having a running partner definitely helps – motivation and accountability. Also a race looming in the next month … that’s pretty good motivation!

  4. Holy Crap! You are making my 3-4 day gym visits look sad…I am motivated to attempt outdoor running!

    • oh run inside if you can! I’m just too cheap for a gym but holy moley it is hot outside these days. I picked a really good season to start running

      • Well you motivated me. I gave the outdoor thing a try and ran 1 mile…..it’s a start right? lol. Keep you the good work!

  5. Congrats! You are more than halfway there (since a 5K is 3.1 miles). It’s all downhill from here! Unless you run uphill. Then it’s uphill…obviously.

  6. Awesome job!!!!!!!!

  1. Pingback: Running Update: Success! « twentyfifth year

Leave a Reply

