I Was Off the Grid

Sort of.

Last week I was in Nags Head, NC with friends for our fourth annual Friends Beach Trip.

These guys came:

And so did these guys:

And these guys came to teach everyone how to expertly boogie board:

I was there, too!

We started July 4th with a salute to the Star Spangled Banner at 10 a.m. and continued it with American beer:

In between days with too-cold water and jelly fish-infested water, we played in the ocean:

And Benjamin enjoyed his half-day before having to head home to go back to work. Adulthood sucks.

Jessie was not a fan of Benjamin’s early departure:

But we managed to get a group photo before he left (unfortunately we were missing D for this one):

After showering up from the beach, our America celebration continued with matching (blurry) girls:

And unruly boys:

And slightly less unruly (blurry) boys:

Despite many, many attempts, Jessie and I got a blurry picture:

We feasted like champions the next morning on gourmet breakfasts of mac-and-cheese-with-cut-up-hot-dogs, pasta salad and eggs.

On the last night before all the friends left, we had an accidental/mandatory uniform night:

And on Wednesday we had a fancy group lunch at Sonic before everyone left Hugh and me to fend for ourselves the rest of the week.

It was quite the pig-out session and it was Jessie’s very first Sonic experience:

I think she liked it.

Then we said goodbye, everyone left, and Hugh and I went back to the big, empty beach house and settled into our friendless depression.

Just kidding, it wasn’t that bad.

But I will save that update for tomorrow.

Posted on July 12, 2011, in 25, Adventures, Celebrations, Friends, Holidays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Awesome! We do an annual OBX trip to Corolla. Unfortunately, we do it with two needy kids, my MiL and my brother in law. Not nearly as chock filled of raucous fun and Bud Heavy’s.

    • “raucous fun” haha … I love the Outer Banks, and grew up going on an annual trip with my family … maybe your kids will look back on your trips as raucous fun, too? 🙂

  2. i want that sonic again! and that picture still creeps me out cus you look so much like your mom in it

  1. Pingback: I Was Off the Grid, Part 2 « twentyfifth year

Leave a Reply

