Running Update: It’s About Darn Time

It’s about darn time that I ran more than 4 miles in one attempt, considering our 10K is coming up this Sunday morning. Last night after scarfing down a particularly delicious dinner of gnocchi with tomato sauce, mozarella and goat cheese (inspired by this), I got a text from Hugh saying “Let’s run 6 miles tonight.”

Okay, sure. 6 miles. No big deal. The furthest I’ve run at one time is 4 miles, and that felt like such an achievement. I hadn’t run since last Wednesday thanks in part to a heat wave that’s been making it hard to even stand outside, let alone move. All things considered, I decided to change our goal from 6 miles to 5-6 miles.

Around mile two my dinner began revolting in the form of cramps and breathing problems. Two miles, Lauren? I thought to myself, two is not six. This math I am certain of.

Around mile three the recurring pain in my left knee started to throb. Thankfully the pain in my right knee (caused by an unfortunate fall on a metro escalator) has subsided so I took solace in that and continued on.

Around mile five Hugh was getting bored and my knee was growing less and less tolerable, so we decided to do a small loop or two in the parking lot and call it quits, knowing that pushing it now may jeopardize my ability to run Sunday.

So it turns out we ran 5.38 miles … at a snail’s pace. But, as usual, once I push through the initial discomforts of the run, I feel like I could keep running forever [within reason]. At least in last night’s lower temperature and less humidity. If it’s 100 degrees with 80% humidity Sunday morning, all bets are off.

 

The moment of truth is fast approaching…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Posted on July 28, 2011, in 25, Adventures and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Good luck, Lauren!!! Text me on Sunday and give me the great news! Love, Aunt B

  2. Woo good luck!! 🙂

  3. Great job! Feel better now, after reading the following: I skipped the gym this Friday after finding out our workout included running 1 mile and then sprinting 200 meters about 4 times. But anywho, I hope you did great in todays 10k!(:

  1. Pingback: Running Update: Success! « twentyfifth year

Leave a Reply

