Bryan’s Sometimes Annual Badminton Tournament

This past Sunday, we spent more hours than I care to admit playing in and spectating at Bryan’s “Sometimes Annual” badminton tournament. My teammate this year (Hugh) was the reigning champ from last year, so the pressure was on. After going undefeated (2-0) in the round robin pre-tournament play, we entered the actual tournament with cautiously high hopes…

Don’t my friends look intensely athletic?

This is quite representative of our teamwork:

Where I lacked in hand-eye coordination, I made up for in the sportsmanlike conduct department — I handed out pre-game high fives to our opponents.

Jessie and Troy were the first team we beat, but I don’t think they’d gotten into this groove yet:

Benjamin was my teammate last year… we’re pretty sure we came in a close second to Hugh’s team, though our memories were a little foggy.

Naturally, I enjoyed the spectating part of the tournament. Only it got a little nerve-racking when the spectator became the player — so much pressure!

The second place trophy, engraved with the motivational message: “You should probably stick to cheering.”

And the coveted Brody Magody Trophy for the champion of the Sometimes Annual Badminton Tournament:

First Place:

Second Place:

I honestly can’t tell you how this happened, but you can probably tell that we did not win…

At least we’re the No. 3 ranked team going into next year’s tournament. Somehow.

Posted on July 29, 2011, in 25, Friends and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. After looking at these pictures I think the key to hitting the birdie is to point the pointer finger of your non-racket hand. Kinda creepy…

  2. I’ll be practicing all year so that the Magody trophy will be mine in 2012!

  3. haha I’m sad I missed this portrayal of athleticism in action! (really)

  4. I love the Cheering trophy!

Leave a Reply

